North Carolina Pioneers

Home of 8 Genealogy Websites! 700M pages of genealogy! Includes databases in: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia!

Genealogy History

blog Jeannette Holland Austin
Jeannette Holland Austin Profile

Join our Blog and Stay Informed about New Additions to 8 Genealogy Websites! Subscribe to Genealogy History by Email

Caldwell County

Caldwell County Genealogy Records

Caldwell County Court House Caldwell county was formed in 1841 from parts of Burke County and Wilkes County. In 1847 parts of Caldwell, Iredell and Wilkes Counties were combined to form Alexander County. Then, during 1849 parts of Caldwell, Ashe, Wilkes and Yancey Counties were combined to form Watauga County. In 1861, parts of Caldwell, Burke, McDowell, Watauga and Yancey Counties were combined to form Mitchell County. Finally, in 1911 parts of Caldwell County, Mitchell County, and Watauga County were combined to form Avery County. It was named for Joseph Caldwell, the presiding professor of the University of North Carolina from 1796 to 1797; 1799 to 1804. Later, Caldwell became first president of the University of North Carolina.

Genealogy Records available to Members

  1. Marriage Licenses 1878 to 1882