Old Dobbs County

The boundaries of the original Dobbs county were drawn from Wayne, Johnston and Craven Counties. However, in 1722, Craven County extended from the coast westward for more than 200 miles. At that time, Johnston, Dobbs and Wayne counties were formed out of Craven. In 1746, Johnston was officially formed from Craven and in 1758 Dobbs County was formed from Johnston. Dobbs County remained intact until 1779 when Wayne County was formed from its western half.


  • Dobbs County Militia 1771
  • Dobbs County Writs 1788-1790

Names of Families in Dobbs County Wills and Estates

Dobbs County is a former county located in the state of North Carolina. It was formed in 1758 from Johnston County, though the legislative act that created it did not become effective until April 10, 1759. It was named for Arthur Dobbs, Governor of North Carolina from 1754 to 1765. However, during 1779 the western part of Dobbs County became Wayne County, and the county seat was moved from its original location on Walnut Creek to the town of Kingston, which was renamed Kinston in 1784. In 1791 Dobbs County was divided into Glasgow County (later renamed Greene County) and Lenoir County, and ceased to exist.

Genealogy Records Available to Members

  • List of Miscellaneous Wills in Carolina State Archives 1762 to 1791

Abstracts of Wills

  • Allen, Andrew
  • Dickson, John
  • Grant, William
  • Lindsay.
  • Mackilwean, Francis

Indexes to Deed Records

  • 1759-1792

Online Images of Old Wills and Estates